Commission – Province of Rieti (RI)
Designer: Arch. Stefano Eleuteri
Construction manager: Arch. Stefano Eleuteri
Contractor Company: Cogepo srl
Fasi di Lavoro
Many painters of the center of Italy frescoed the walls and chapels throughout 1300.
The noble altars were built with the advent of the Baroque, as well as plastering of the chapels and covering part of the frescoes. The current tower dates back to 1642. Church suffered decay and neglect but fortunately was not finally demolished. After being restored and beautified, it could resist the Napoleonic invasions, which caused the suppression of the monasteries; the Dominicans were expelled from the church and convent in 1860, with the arrival of the unit of Italy.
In the 90’s and after so many years of neglect, Monsignor Luigi Bardotti (pastor of Santa Lucia), using public and private funds, took care of the restoration of the church, that was invaded by grasses and had lost its roof. The church was finally consecrated in 1999 and now houses the Dom Bedos Roubo organ, unique in the world.
The beautiful frescoed cloister is not always accessible, but only on designated days by the military headquarter Attilio Verdosi (where the “Scuola Interforze per la difesa nucleare, biologica e chimica” of the Defense Ministry is located).